Attention: Researchers who wish to perform research on-site may make an appointment by calling (302) 744-5000 or e-mailing More Info logo

Delaware Public Archives (DPA) logo


Previous Page

Table Of Contents

Next Page

1683 – List of people naturalized/ desiring to be naturalized

A declaration by William Penn to his people that lands taken up in 1681 and 1682 were to be “seated” in 12 months or forfeited; that unsurveyed lands and warrants granted in 1679 and after were to be surveyed and seated by the end of the next summer; that those who owed quitrents should pay half that year and half the next of no more than 1 bushel of wheat per 100 acres; and that the attached pledge for naturalization be allowed for his people.


The Proprietarry: was pleased to State ye following forme, for those as wanted Naturalization according to act of Assembly past att Chestr: (als) upland-
I: A: B: doe Solemnly promise to keep faith and alleigiance to ye king of England & his heirs and Successors: fidelity and Lawfull obedience to William Penn Proprietary & Governor: of the Province of Pensiluania and its Territorys and to his heirs & Successors: according to ye Lawe of Naturalization past in Assembly in ye month of december Laest att Chester (als) upland in ye Province aforesd:-
Followeth the names of those whoe desired to bee Naturalized in Cort:   Was Signed by

Peter Alrichs Arnold: De Lagrange Hendrik Van den Burgh John Nummers John Barentsen Ambroos Baker Broer Sinnexen Hendrik Gerritzen Adam Petersen Jacob Vandr:veer Gerrit Jansen van Beek Jan hermensen Mary Blocq Gerrit Otto Jsacq Sauoy Mathias deNos Dauid Bilderbeek Hans Petersen Hendrik Evertsen Oele or Oliver Thomassen Arent Jansen V:Burgh Pieter Jacquet Justa Andries de haen Peter de Coomink Abram Eenloos Roelof Andries Jacob Aertsen Sick Oelkens Oele Toersen Jurian Boatsman Coenraet Constantin Oele Oelsen Tossen Lasse Oesen Tossen Peter Claassen Peter deWitt Peter Eskelsen Cock Andries Staalcop Poul Gerritzen Hans Hansen Miller Justa Poulsen Henry Doll Jacobus Andries Hans Coderus Cornelis VandrVeer Joseph Barens Jean Paul Jacquet

Jacob Clementsen Samuel Pietersen Jan hendriksen Harmen Laurier Nieles Neelsen ripat Michiel Oelsen Dirk huybertsen Peter Abrinck Oele Clemensen AEmilius D’Ringh Jan Boeyar Jan Andriesse Stalcop Huybert Lourensen Everet hendrickson Jan Gerritsen Verhoof Gerrardus Wessells Hendrik Wallraven Dirk Willemsen Jacob Claassen Tymen Stiddem Pieter Maesland Jan Bisck Christopher Myer Cornelius Jansen Vries Jan Jacquet Junio Hendrik Andriessen John Willemsen Neering Reynier Vander Coelen Moses De Gam Oele Poulsen Poul Laersen Lucas Stiddem Mathias Vander heyden Josyn Sempill Metheus De Ringh William Croesie Peter Jegou Symon Eskelsen Cock Jan Eskelsen Cock Eldort Egbertsen forsben Anthony Bryant Hans Marckussen Gysbert Walraeven Eph: Herman Caspr herman Hendrik dulgar

Jan Pietersenproot Hendrik fransen Hendrik Lemmens Petrus Tesschemaker Engelbert Lott: Claas Danielson Pruys Jan Valck Sybrant Valck Isacq Tayne Lulof Stiddem Carell Petersen Jan Moensen Erasmus Stiddem Adam Stiddem Samuell Samuells Carell Staalcop Jan Staalcop Junior Sybrant Jansen Claes Andriessen Harmen Jansen Lasse Andries Gubban Mathias Laersen Tossen Cristiaen Andriessen Peter Bayard Peter Volckertsen-



RG 2200.013 New Castle County Court Record Book A-B, page 284.
Transcript from: Records of the Court of New Castle on Delaware, Vol. II, 1681-1699, (Meadville, PA: Tribune Publishing, 1935), p. 37.

Related Topics: