LINE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH
On January 31, 1785, Planner Shores sold a one acre lot to the trustees of the local Methodist Society. A part of a tract known as “Pleasant Grove”, the land was located on the border of Delaware and Maryland. The deed stipulated that a preaching house or chapel be built “for the use of the Methodist Preachers”. Due to its unique location, the church became known as the Line Church. Bishop Francis Asbury ministered to congregations here on several occasions. The present building was constructed in 1874 to accommodate the growing congregation. In 1995 the Church was designated as an Historic Site of the Peninsula-Delaware Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church.
Enter your address for driving directions to this marker
The Delaware Public Archives operates a historical markers program as part of its mandate. Markers are placed at historically significant locations and sites across the state. For more information on this program, please contact Sarah Denison at (302) 744-5016 or via email at Sarah.Denison@state.de.us.
LOCATION: Near Whitesville. North of the intersection of Rt. 54 and Rt. 456 (7 miles west of Rt. 13 and Rt. 54 intersection at Delmar.