TOWN OF DELMAR
The Town of Delmar was established soon after the Delaware Railroad reached this area in 1895. Although fire devastated Delmar in 1892 and 1901, the town continued to build and grow. Incorporated on March 9, 1899, Delmar became known as the “strawberry capital of the nation” in the early twentieth century due to the abundance of strawberries grown and shipped by farmers in the area. Located on the Mason-Dixon Line, Delmar took its’ name from the combination of the first three letters of both Delaware and Maryland. Because of Delmar’s unique geographic situation, the town adopted the motto of “The Little Town Too Big To Be In On State.”
Enter your address for driving directions to this marker
The Delaware Public Archives operates a historical markers program as part of its mandate. Markers are placed at historically significant locations and sites across the state. For more information on this program, please contact Katie Hall at (302) 744-5036 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
LOCATION: Delmar. Near the intersection of East State Street and 6th Street.