OLD DELAWARE CITY PUBLIC SCHOOL
Delaware City was founded in 1826, in anticipation of the opening of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal. The town was incorporated in 1851. The benefits of proximity to the canal resulted in a sustained period of prosperity and expansion of the community. By the 1880s, the need for new educational facilities to serve a growing population was evident. In 1883 a new Delaware City Public School was constructed at this location. The building’s design showcased the Italianate style that was popular at the time. The school continued to serve the community’s needs until it was outgrown and replaced by a larger structure on Fifth Street in 1930. The old building was purchased by St. Paul’s Roman Catholic Church in 1933, and remodeled for use as a Parish house. During World War II, the building served as a USO Center, providing off-base recreation for soldiers stationed at nearby Fort DuPont and Fort Delaware. In 1969 the City of Delaware City assumed ownership of the structure to house municipal offices. The former Delaware City Public School building was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1984 as part of the Delaware City Historic District.
Enter your address for driving directions to this marker
The Delaware Public Archives operates a historical markers program as part of its mandate. Markers are placed at historically significant locations and sites across the state. For more information on this program, please contact Sarah Denison at (302) 744-5016 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org..
LOCATION: 407 Clinton Street, Delaware City.