FRANK FURNESS RAILROAD DISTRICT
The B&O Water Street Station (1888), the Pennsylvania Railroad Office Building (1905), and the Wilmington Train Station (1907), comprise a unique campus of railroad architecture by renowned Philadelphia architect Frank Furness (1839-1912). Frequently commissioned by the nation’s leading railroads, Furness left his creative mark at stations large and small throughout the Northeast, though few survive. Over his half-century career, which was interrupted by service in the Civil War, Furness developed a distinctively American style in which architectural elements were manipulated in proportion and scale in order to dramatize a building’s function and character. Oversize arches, muscular moldings, and bold projecting elements distinguish his works, which were further enlivened by his idiosyncratic ornament that combined organic and geometric motifs. His Wilmington commissions included the former Security Trust and Safe Deposit Co. (1885) at the corner of Sixth and Market Streets, and the B&) Delaware Avenue Passenger Station (1886), demolished in 1960.
Enter your address for driving directions to this marker
The Delaware Public Archives operates a historical markers program as part of its mandate. Markers are placed at historically significant locations and sites across the state. For more information on this program, please contact Sarah Denison at (302) 744-5016 or via email at email@example.com..
LOCATION: Corner of French Street and Rosa Parks Drive (Water Street), Wilmington