The oldest portion of this structure was erected in 1893 to replace two smaller schools that were no longer adequate to serve the needs of local students. This building was constructed largely through the efforts of the duPont family, long-time supporters of public education in Delaware. It was named for Alexis Irenee duPont in recognition of his many years of service as an active member of the boards of local schools. Opening in January 1894, the building was distinguished by its unique Romanesque architectural style. The facility has been expanded at various times to meet the demands of a growing student body. Classes at all grade levels attended here until 1952. Following the opening of a new elementary school in Greenville that year, this school was utilized for students at the secondary level. Since completion of construction of a new High School at another location in 1966, this facility has functioned as a Junior High and Middle School. This building is part of the Henry Clay Village Historic District of the National Register of Historic Places.

Enter your address for driving directions to this marker

The Delaware Public Archives operates a historical markers program as part of its mandate. Markers are placed at historically significant locations and sites across the state. For more information on this program, please contact Katie Hall at (302) 744-5036 or via email at

LOCATION: 3130 Kennett Pike, Greenville.